2020 · Cadillac · United States
2020 Cadillac V-Series: The Badge Moves to CT4 and CT5
The V badge moved to the new CT4 and CT5 as turbocharged, ten-speed, rear- or all-wheel-drive sport sedans, beside the last CT6-V.
United States · researched through 2026-09-23
This record's own dek states that the V badge moved to the new CT4 and CT5 as turbocharged, ten-speed, rear- or all-wheel-drive sport sedans, beside the last CT6-V. This record's own overview states that Cadillac announced the CT4-V and CT5-V on May 31, 2019 for sale in 2020, a 2.7-liter turbo four in the CT4-V and a 3.0-liter twin-turbo V6 in the CT5-V, each with a ten-speed automatic and rear- or all-wheel drive, and that the announced outputs were Cadillac estimates of 320 hp and 355 hp.1
This record's own overview states that by pricing time the CT5-V was quoted at 360 hp and 405 lb-ft, from $48,690 with all-wheel drive $2,600 extra, and that a Consumer Guide test of an all-wheel-drive CT4-V quoted 325 hp and 380 lb-ft. It states that the V-Series production list gives 803 CT4-V, 1,127 CT5-V, and 434 CT6-V for model year 2020, and that on April 15, 2020 Cadillac confirmed that Blackwing versions of the CT4-V and CT5-V were coming.2,3
This record's own conflicts section addresses CT4-V output directly: 320 hp as Cadillac's own May 2019 estimate against 325 hp and 380 lb-ft in the later Consumer Guide specifications box. Its treatment shows both, describing the gap as a pre-launch estimate against a later published figure, with the later figure the one listed in this record's own engine table rather than the earlier announcement figure.4
This record's own conflicts section also addresses 2020 CT6-V production: 434 vehicles in the V-Series production list against 411 CT6-V engines from Cadillac Society and 411 CT6-V vehicles from GM Authority, whose own color counts sum to 407. Its treatment shows all three figures from different lineages, notes that GM Authority's 411 shares the same analyst lineage as the Cadillac Society engine count rather than confirming it independently, and that GM Authority's own 2020 color split sums to 407, short of its own headline total.5,6
This record's own prices section documents a $48,690 starting price for the CT5-V with all-wheel drive at $2,600 more, and a $44,495 base price for the CT4-V against a $48,610 as-tested price for the all-wheel-drive test car. This record's own engines section documents the 2.7-liter turbo four at 325 hp and 380 lb-ft and the 3.0-liter twin-turbo V6 at 360 hp and 405 lb-ft, revised up from the 355-hp estimate per Kelley Blue Book, and this record's own transmissions section documents the ten-speed automatic as the only transmission in both cars.4,2
This record's own paint section documents nine priced CT4-V colors, from $625 options like Velocity Red and Royal Spice Metallic to the $1,225 Red Obsession Tintcoat and no-charge Summit White and Black Raven, alongside five CT6-V colors whose production counts sum to 407, four short of GM Authority's own 411 CT6-V total and 27 short of Cadillac V-Net's 434, a gap the article does not explain. This record's own specifications section documents rear-wheel drive as standard with all-wheel drive available and an EPA rating of 20/28/23 mpg for the all-wheel-drive CT4-V, and this record's own performance section documents Consumer Guide's observed 22.5 mpg over 223 miles on 9.9 gallons.7,8
Fact sheet · 2020 · United States
The numbers
2020 Cadillac CT4-V, CT5-V and CT6-V — The V badge moved to the new CT4 and CT5 as turbocharged, ten-speed, rear- or all-wheel-drive sport sedans, beside the last CT6-V.
Coverage: Partial — researched sections are shown; missing ones are not yet sourced. Researched through 2026-09-23.
Every figure is labeled with how sure we are. Reported means a manufacturer, registry, or reference figure we cite but have not reconciled against factory records ourselves. Disputed means credible sources disagree and both are shown. Rows are separately scoped; don't add them together unless the note says they make up a total.
Key facts
Production
| What was counted | Count | Basis | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| CT6-V sedan (vehicles), GM Authority figure6 CT6-V · 4-door sedan · LTA 4.2L twin-turbo V8 · 10-speed automatic · not stated by source GM Authority presents 504 as CT6-V units produced (production, not sales); its companion colour article gives 2020 colour counts summing to 407. Same analyst lineage as the Cadillac Society engine count; conflicts with Cadillac V-Net's 434. | 411 | built, model-year | Disputed |
| CT4-V3 CT4-V · 4-door sedan · 2.7L turbo I4 · 10-speed automatic · not stated by source RWD and AWD combined; no split published. | 803 | built, model-year | Reported |
| CT5-V3 CT5-V · 4-door sedan · 3.0L twin-turbo V6 · 10-speed automatic · not stated by source RWD and AWD combined; no split published. | 1,127 | built, model-year | Reported |
| CT6-V (vehicles)3 CT6-V · 4-door sedan · 4.2L twin-turbo V8 · 10-speed automatic · not stated by source Engine-count source gives 411; see conflicts. | 434 | built, model-year | Disputed |
| What was counted | Count | Basis | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Blackwing 4.2L engines installed in CT6-V5 CT6-V · 4-door sedan · 4.2L twin-turbo V8 (LTA) · not stated by source Engine count; 528 LTA engines in 2020 including 117 CT6 Platinum. | 411 | built, model-year | Disputed |
Cadillac V-Net states the list was obtained from Cadillac; market scope (US only or all markets) is not stated. Rows for different models are separately scoped. No whole-year V-Series total is shown here: the V-Net page gives no combined annual figure, and a total would have to be summed across separately scoped rows, which this record does not do. Searched 2026-09-29: the V-Net production page, its site-news post on the update and its forum threads; none states a US-only or all-markets scope. A GM or Cadillac statement of scope, or a published per-year V-Series total, would close it.
Prices when new
| Model | Price | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price, CT5-V2 | $48,690 | starting price as reported by Kelley Blue Book, 2019-11-26 |
| All-wheel drive, CT5-V2 | $2,600 | option price as reported, 2019-11-26 |
| Base price, CT4-V4 | $44,495 | base price as reported by Consumer Guide (destination treatment not stated), 2020-10-23 |
| As-tested price, CT4-V AWD test car4 | $48,610 | as-tested price reported by Consumer Guide, 2020-10-23 |
Prices are the nominal dollars of the day, not adjusted for inflation.
Engines
| Engine | Factory rating | Availability | Built |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2.7-liter turbo I4, high output (CT4-V)4 2.7 L · turbocharged | 325 hp, 380 lb-ft (manufacturer rating (SAE certification not stated in the cited item)) | standard, CT4-V | Not yet sourced |
| 3.0-liter twin-turbo V6 (CT5-V)2 3 L · twin turbocharged | 360 hp, 405 lb-ft (manufacturer rating (SAE certification not stated in the cited item)) | standard, CT5-V | Not yet sourced |
Ratings are the manufacturer's advertised figures under the standard shown (SAE gross before 1972, SAE net after). They are not dyno results, and gross and net ratings can't be compared directly.
Transmissions
| Transmission | Availability | Built |
|---|---|---|
| Ten-speed automatic (CT4-V, CT5-V)1,2 | standard; only transmission | Not yet sourced |
Paint
| Code | Color | Built |
|---|---|---|
G7C |
Velocity Red (CT4-V; $625; touch-up WA-130X; Sport and V-Series only)7 | Not yet sourced |
GLL |
Royal Spice Metallic (CT4-V; $625; touch-up WA-324E; Sport and V-Series only)7 | Not yet sourced |
G7E |
Red Obsession Tintcoat (CT4-V; $1,225; touch-up WA-132X)7 | Not yet sourced |
G9K |
Satin Steel Metallic (CT4-V; $625; touch-up WA-464C)7 | Not yet sourced |
GJ0 |
Evergreen Metallic (CT4-V; $625; touch-up WA-624D)7 | Not yet sourced |
GJI |
Shadow Metallic (CT4-V; $625; touch-up WA-626D)7 | Not yet sourced |
GKK |
Wave Metallic (CT4-V; $625; touch-up WA-627D)7 | Not yet sourced |
GAZ |
Summit White (CT4-V; included; touch-up WA-8624)7 | Not yet sourced |
GBA |
Black Raven (CT4-V; included; touch-up WA-8555)7 | Not yet sourced |
GBA |
Black Raven (CT6-V)8 | 2028 Reported |
G1W |
Crystal White Tricoat (CT6-V)8 | 868 Reported |
GCI |
Manhattan Noir Metallic (CT6-V)8 | 598 Reported |
G9K |
Satin Steel Metallic (CT6-V)8 | 378 Reported |
GPJ |
Red Horizon Tintcoat (CT6-V)8 | 238 Reported |
Color names are the factory's. We don't show color swatches, because a screen color is no guide for a restoration.
Specifications
| Measure | Value | Applies to |
|---|---|---|
| Drive1 | rear-wheel drive standard; all-wheel drive available (CT4-V, CT5-V) | CT4-V, CT5-V |
| EPA fuel economy, CT4-V AWD, city/highway/combined4 | 20/28/23 mpg | CT4-V AWD as tested |
Period road tests
| Test | Car tested | Result |
|---|---|---|
| Consumer Guide, 2020-10-234observed fuel economy | CT4-V AWD, 2.7L turbo, 10-speed automatic223 miles on 9.9 gallons | 22.5 mpg |
A road test result belongs to the one car that was tested, with its engine, gearing, tires, and conditions. It is not a figure for every car of the year.
Where the sources disagree
CT4-V output
Pre-launch estimate versus later published figure; both shown, the later figure listed in the engine table.
2020 CT6-V production
Vehicles versus engines from different lineages; all shown. GM Authority presents 411 as vehicles produced, from the same analyst lineage as the Cadillac Society engine count, so it is not an independent confirmation; its own 2020 colour split sums to 407.
Identification
Read a 2020 Cadillac VIN
The VIN decoder runs in your browser and never sends the VIN anywhere. How the factory numbered this year's cars:
Same model year
Also in 2020
- Dodge Challenger Fifty years on: a 50th Anniversary Edition capped at 70 numbered cars per model per colour, and the 807-hp SRT Super Stock drag car.
- Dodge Charger Widebody comes to the Charger, and a 501-car Daytona 50th Anniversary Edition echoes Dodge's count for the 1969 original.