1999 · Mercury · United States
1999 Mercury Cougar: The Front-Drive Relaunch
The front-drive Cougar hatchback arrived with a 2.0 Zetec four or 2.5 Duratec V6; a reference site reports 88,288 for the year.
United States · researched through 2026-09-22
Wikipedia's own account, this record's overview states, records that the 1999-2002 Cougar was an entirely new front-drive design built at Flat Rock, Michigan, with a 125-horsepower 2.0-litre Zetec four or a 170-horsepower 2.5-litre Duratec V6, and that the last Cougar left the line on August 9, 2002, though no per-year production figure was found there. conceptcarz's own account gives 88,288 1999 Cougars, worded both as production and as sales, the same figure Wikipedia itself takes from an owners' forum post, this record's own overview noting that no Ford record was found to confirm it. This record's own key facts section adds two further points: conceptcarz lists a 1999 price range of $16,600 to $17,875 across the models it covers, on a basis the source does not state, and Roush built 112 Roush-edition Cougars across the 1999 and 2000 model years combined, per both conceptcarz and Wikipedia.1,2
Total 1999 production is carried as 88,288 cars, this record's own production table states, scoped to the 3-door hatchback coupe body, on an accounting basis conceptcarz itself does not state; this record's own note explains that Wikipedia gives the identical figure but cites a 2004 NewCougar.org forum post, while conceptcarz names no source at all, so the two may in fact be one lineage rather than independent confirmations. Four 1999 prices are documented from the Auto Channel's own buyer's-guide database: $16,390 MSRP and $14,977 dealer invoice for the four-cylinder coupe, and $16,890 MSRP and $15,422 dealer invoice for the V6 coupe, each on an effective date the source itself does not state.2,3
Two engines are documented for 1999, this record's own engine table shows: a 2.0-litre Zetec DOHC four, standard and rated 125 horsepower SAE net, and a 2.5-litre Duratec DOHC V6, optional and rated 170 horsepower SAE net. This record's own conflicts section documents a disagreement over the automatic transaxle's availability: Wikipedia's own text says the CD4E 4-speed automatic was available with either engine, though rare with the four-cylinder, while the 1999 brochure's own specifications panel lists the automatic as optional under the V6 only; this record's own treatment shows both, noting that the brochure reflects availability at the time of printing rather than resolving which account is more complete.1
This record's own options section names two items from the 1999 brochure's safety features chart, side air bags and an anti-lock brake system, both optional on four-cylinder and V6 models alike. This record's own specifications section carries a curb weight of 2,830 pounds as listed by conceptcarz with the configuration not stated, alongside the brochure's own fuller ratings: the 2.0-litre Zetec at 125 horsepower at 5,500 rpm and 130 lb-ft of torque at 4,000 rpm with 9.6:1 compression, and the 2.5-litre Duratec at 170 horsepower at 6,250 rpm and 165 lb-ft at 4,250 rpm with 9.7:1 compression, plus the brochure's own transaxle line printing the 5-speed manual as standard with both engines and the 4-speed automatic as optional under V6 only.2
The brochure's own specifications panel carries six further 1999 figures this record's own specifications section holds: a 106.4-inch wheelbase, front and rear track of 59.3 and 58.7 inches, a 15.5-gallon fuel tank, cargo capacity of 14.5 cubic feet with the rear seat up and 24 with it down, ventilated front disc brakes with rear drums and optional ABS, and a suspension of front MacPherson compact struts with a lower A-arm and anti-roll bar against a rear Quadralink layout with passive rear-wheel steering and its own anti-roll bar.
This record's own paint and interiors sections are left entirely empty for 1999, as are performance and identification. This record's own unpublished-leads section carries one item forward without asserting it as fact: a claim that only about 500 Cougars across 1999-2002 were built with the 2.0-litre four and the automatic transaxle, sourced to Wikipedia's own hedge word "supposedly" with no source given there, a claim this record's own text declines to promote beyond that leads status.1
Fact sheet · 1999 · United States
The numbers
1999 Mercury Cougar — The front-drive Cougar hatchback arrived with a 2.0 Zetec four or 2.5 Duratec V6; a reference site reports 88,288 for the year.
Coverage: Partial — researched sections are shown; missing ones are not yet sourced. Researched through 2026-09-22.
Every figure is labeled with how sure we are. Reported means a manufacturer, registry, or reference figure we cite but have not reconciled against factory records ourselves. Disputed means credible sources disagree and both are shown. Rows are separately scoped; don't add them together unless the note says they make up a total.
Key facts
Production
| What was counted | Count | Basis | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| All 1999 Cougars2,2 3-door hatchback coupe · as published Wikipedia gives the same 88,288 but cites a 2004 NewCougar.org forum post; conceptcarz names no source, so the two may be one lineage. | 88,288 | not stated (conceptcarz calls it both production and sales), model-year | Reported |
Rows are separately scoped; do not add them unless a note says they partition a total.
Prices when new
| Model | Price | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| Cougar 3-door coupe, I-4, base3 | $16,390 | MSRP excluding destination (buyer's-guide database; effective date not stated), 1999 model year |
| Cougar 3-door coupe, I-4, dealer invoice3 | $14,977 | invoice price in buyer's-guide database, 1999 model year |
| Cougar 3-door coupe, V6, base3 | $16,890 | MSRP excluding destination (buyer's-guide database; effective date not stated), 1999 model year |
| Cougar 3-door coupe, V6, dealer invoice3 | $15,422 | invoice price in buyer's-guide database, 1999 model year |
Prices are the nominal dollars of the day, not adjusted for inflation.
Engines
| Engine | Factory rating | Availability | Built |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2.0 Zetec DOHC I-41 2 L · fuel injection | 125 hp (SAE net) | standard | Not yet sourced |
| 2.5 Duratec DOHC V61 2.5 L · fuel injection | 170 hp (SAE net) | optional (V6 models) | Not yet sourced |
Ratings are the manufacturer's advertised figures under the standard shown (SAE gross before 1972, SAE net after). They are not dyno results, and gross and net ratings can't be compared directly.
Transmissions
| Transmission | Availability | Built |
|---|---|---|
| MTX-75 5-speed manual transaxle1 | with either engine | Not yet sourced |
| CD4E 4-speed automatic transaxle1 | with either engine in the US; rare with the I-4 | Not yet sourced |
Options and packages
| Code | Option | Price | Installed |
|---|---|---|---|
option |
Side air bags [optional, I-4 and V-6] | — | Not yet sourced |
option |
Anti-lock Brake System [optional, I-4 and V-6] | — | Not yet sourced |
Specifications
| Measure | Value | Applies to |
|---|---|---|
| Curb weight2 | 2,830 lb | as listed by conceptcarz (configuration not stated) |
| Engine rating, 2.0 Zetec 16-valve DOHC I-4 (variable valve timing) | 125 hp @ 5,500 rpm; 130 lb-ft @ 4,000 rpm (SAE net); compression 9.6:1 text | I-4 models |
| Engine rating, 2.5 Duratec 24-valve DOHC V6 | 170 hp @ 6,250 rpm; 165 lb-ft @ 4,250 rpm (SAE net); compression 9.7:1 text | V6 models |
| Transaxles as printed | 5-speed manual overdrive standard with both engines; 4-speed electronic automatic overdrive listed as optional under V-6 only text | as printed |
| Wheelbase | 106.4 in | all |
| Track, front / rear | 59.3 / 58.7 in | all |
| Fuel tank | 15.5 gal | all |
| Cargo capacity, rear seat up / down | 14.5 / 24 cu ft | all |
| Brakes | ventilated front discs, rear drums; ABS optional text | as printed |
| Suspension | front MacPherson compact strut with lower A-arm and anti-roll bar; rear Quadralink with passive rear-wheel steering and anti-roll bar text | all |
Where the sources disagree
1999 automatic transaxle availability
- automatic available with either engine (rare with the I-4)1
- automatic listed as optional under the V-6 only
Both shown; the brochure reflects availability at printing.
Identification
Read a 1999 Mercury VIN
The VIN decoder runs in your browser and never sends the VIN anywhere. How the factory numbered this year's cars:
Same model year
Also in 1999
- Buick Riviera The last Riviera: 1,956 built, the final 200 as Silver Arrow editions.
- Ford Taurus SHO The final V8 SHO year: a $29,000 V8 sedan with every feature standard, built until June 1999.
- Pontiac Firebird and Trans Am The Trans Am turns 30: 1,600 anniversary WS6 cars (1,065 coupes, 535 convertibles) in a line of about 36,200.
- Pontiac Grand Prix The naturally aspirated 3.8 rises to 200 hp; supercharged 240 hp continues.