2001 · Pontiac · United States
2001 Pontiac Grand Prix: A Special Edition, and a Production Figure That Wasn't What It Seemed
The GT and GTP gain a Special Edition package, and the 98,131 once shown as the year's production turns out to be calendar-year output through September 2001.
United States · researched through 2026-09-23
This record's own dek states that the GT and GTP gain a Special Edition package for 2001, and that the 98,131 once shown as the year's production turns out to be calendar-year output through September 2001. This record's own overview states that MuscleCarClub, crediting the Standard Catalog of Pontiac, gives 2001 Grand Prix production as 98,131 across SE, GT and GTP without a split by trim or engine, and that the compiled engine tables list a supercharged 3.8-liter V6 at 240 hp and 280 lb-ft and a naturally aspirated 3.8-liter V6 at 200 hp and 225 lb-ft, both SAE net as compiled with no rpm given. This record's own overview also states directly that the Standard Catalog of Pontiac, the source the compiled table credits, describes that same 98,131 as calendar-year production through September 29, 2001, not as model-year production.1,2
This record's own keyFacts section states that for 2001 Pontiac offered Special Edition versions of the Grand Prix GT and GTP with hood vents, a sculpted rear spoiler, roof fences, chrome exhaust tips and wheels, two-tone leather seating, special door emblems and painted trim plates, and that Consumer Guide notes many of these pieces, and the silver paint, came from the 2000 Daytona 500 pace-car replica. This record's own options section carries that same Special Edition package as its single entry, describing the identical hood vents, spoiler, roof fences, exhaust tips and wheels, leather seating, door emblems and trim plates for the GT and GTP.3
This record's own production section carries two rows for the same 98,131 figure: one presented as the model-year total and marked disputed, and a second explicitly labeled calendar-year production through September 29, 2001, with its own note that this partial calendar-year figure mixes 2001 and 2002 model-year cars and is not the 2001 model-year total, and that no 2001 model-year total was found in a published source. This record's own conflicts section addresses the same question directly, the compiled table presenting 98,131 as model-year production against the Standard Catalog's own wording of it as calendar-year production through September 29, with this record's own treatment note stating the calendar-year framing should be used and that a forum-quoted manufacturer reply of 130,527 is not a substitute for a real model-year total.1,2
This record's own unpublishedLeads section carries that forum-quoted reply of 130,527 total 2001 Grand Prix production, listed by SE sedan, GT coupe, GT sedan, GTP coupe and GTP sedan without per-model figures in the quoted text, held back as an unverified conflict with the compiled 98,131; a second lead from Wikipedia states that OnStar became standard on the GTP and optional on the GT for 2001, that the SE adopted the GT/GTP front fascia, and that dealer-installed 75th Anniversary emblems were offered to mark Pontiac's 75th year, held back as tertiary text without a traced primary citation.1
This record's own prices section carries five MSRPs from the Chrome-data buyer's guide republished by TheAutoChannel, with destination and date not stated: $20,455 for the SE sedan, $21,960 for the GT coupe, $22,110 for the GT sedan, $25,450 for the GTP coupe, and $25,630 for the GTP sedan. This record's own engines section carries the supercharged 3.8-liter on the GTP and the naturally aspirated 3.8-liter on the GT per pontiac.com's own model page, plus a third entry for a 3.1-liter V6 the EPA lists with the four-speed automatic for 2001 that the compiled engine table does not carry for the year, with this record's own availability note stating no 2001 rating was reached for it. This record's own transmissions section lists a single entry, the four-speed electronically controlled automatic, the only transmission for the year, with three EPA vehicle records covering the 3.1-, 3.8- and supercharged 3.8-liter engines.4,5,1
This record's own paint, interiors, specifications, performance and identification sections are all empty for the year, leaving this record's coverage limited to overview, keyFacts, production, prices, engines, transmissions, options, conflicts and unpublishedLeads, with no color list, no dimension, no road test and no series or body-style code recorded anywhere in this record for the model year. Even the Special Edition's own silver paint, borrowed from the 2000 pace car by this record's own keyFacts text, is described only in that equipment sense, without a dedicated paint entry naming it.1
Fact sheet · 2001 · United States
The numbers
2001 Pontiac Grand Prix — The GT and GTP gain a Special Edition package, and the 98,131 once shown as the year's production turns out to be calendar-year output through September 2001.
Coverage: Partial — researched sections are shown; missing ones are not yet sourced. Researched through 2026-09-23.
Every figure is labeled with how sure we are. Reported means a manufacturer, registry, or reference figure we cite but have not reconciled against factory records ourselves. Disputed means credible sources disagree and both are shown. Rows are separately scoped; don't add them together unless the note says they make up a total.
Key facts
- For 2001 Pontiac offered Special Edition versions of the Grand Prix GT and GTP with hood vents, a sculpted rear spoiler, roof fences, chrome exhaust tips and wheels, two-tone leather seating, special door emblems and painted trim plates; Consumer Guide notes that many of these pieces, and the silver paint, came from the 2000 Daytona 500 pace-car replica.3
Production
| What was counted | Count | Basis | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Grand Prix total (SE/GT/GTP)1 SE/GT/GTP · not stated by source Bodystyle column as printed by the source: SE/GT/GTP. Scope disputed: the Standard Catalog, which this compiled table credits, gives 98,131 as calendar-year production through September 29, 2001, not as a model-year total. | 98,131 | built, model-year | Disputed |
| Calendar-year production through September 29, 2001 (Standard Catalog)2 not stated by source A partial calendar-year figure (January to September 29, 2001) that mixes 2001 and 2002 model-year cars; it is not the 2001 model-year total. No 2001 model-year total was found in a published source. | 98,131 | built, calendar-year | Reported |
Production rows are the Standard Catalog of Pontiac lineage as compiled by MuscleCarClub; trim labels are the compiler's. Where trim rows are shown, the source presents them as summing to its total. No engine, transmission, option, paint or trim-color counts were found.
Depth pass 2026-09-23: the Standard Catalog, the source behind the compiled total, gives 98,131 as calendar-year production through September 29, 2001, so no 2001 model-year total is known from a published source. A forum-quoted manufacturer reply gives 130,527 (unpublished leads).
Prices when new
| Model | Price | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| MSRP, Grand Prix SE sedan4 | $20,455 | MSRP in the Chrome-data buyer's guide republished by TheAutoChannel; destination not included; date not stated, 2001 model year |
| MSRP, Grand Prix GT coupe4 | $21,960 | MSRP in the Chrome-data buyer's guide republished by TheAutoChannel; destination not included; date not stated, 2001 model year |
| MSRP, Grand Prix GT sedan4 | $22,110 | MSRP in the Chrome-data buyer's guide republished by TheAutoChannel; destination not included; date not stated, 2001 model year |
| MSRP, Grand Prix GTP coupe4 | $25,450 | MSRP in the Chrome-data buyer's guide republished by TheAutoChannel; destination not included; date not stated, 2001 model year |
| MSRP, Grand Prix GTP sedan4 | $25,630 | MSRP in the Chrome-data buyer's guide republished by TheAutoChannel; destination not included; date not stated, 2001 model year |
Prices are the nominal dollars of the day, not adjusted for inflation.
Engines
| Engine | Factory rating | Availability | Built |
|---|---|---|---|
| 3.8L V6 Supercharged1 3.8 L · supercharged | 240 hp, 280 lb-ft (SAE net (per source's note that post-1972 ratings are net)) | GTP (pontiac.com model page) | Not yet sourced |
| 3.8L V61 3.8 L | 200 hp, 225 lb-ft (SAE net (per source's note that post-1972 ratings are net)) | GT (pontiac.com model page) | Not yet sourced |
| 3.1L V6 (EPA-listed)5 3.1 L | EPA lists a 3.1 L six with the 4-speed automatic for 2001 (record 16811); the compiled engine table above does not list it for 2001. No 2001 rating was reached. | Not yet sourced |
Ratings are the manufacturer's advertised figures under the standard shown (SAE gross before 1972, SAE net after). They are not dyno results, and gross and net ratings can't be compared directly.
Transmissions
| Transmission | Availability | Built |
|---|---|---|
| 4-speed automatic (electronically controlled)5 | only transmission; EPA records 16811 (3.1 L), 16812 (3.8 L) and 16813 (3.8 L supercharged, premium fuel) | Not yet sourced |
Options and packages
| Code | Option | Price | Installed |
|---|---|---|---|
package (code not stated by source) |
Special Edition (GT and GTP): hood vents, sculpted rear spoiler, aerodynamic roof fences, chrome exhaust tips and wheels, two-tone leather seating surfaces, special door emblems, painted trimplates | — | Not yet sourced |
Where the sources disagree
What the 98,131 figure for 2001 measures
- 98,131, presented as 2001 model-year production1
- 98,131, calendar-year production through September 29, 20012
The compiled table credits the Standard Catalog, whose own wording makes the figure a partial calendar-year count; present it that way and say that the 2001 model-year total is unknown. A forum-quoted manufacturer reply of 130,527 (unpublished leads) is not a substitute.
Identification
Read a 2001 Pontiac VIN
The VIN decoder runs in your browser and never sends the VIN anywhere. How the factory numbered this year's cars:
Same model year
Also in 2001
- Chevrolet Monte Carlo SS SS continues with the 200-hp 3800 V6; a window sticker shows the Oshawa-built SS at $22,400 base.
- Mercury Cougar The front-drive Cougar; no 2001 production figure was found.
- Pontiac Firebird and Trans Am 2001 Firebird and Trans Am: 20,927 VINs counted against 21,436 by another source, and 540 SLP Firehawks.