2004 · Pontiac · United States
2004 Pontiac Grand Prix: A New Sedan-Only Generation and the Comp G
A new sedan-only Grand Prix, with the supercharged GTP and its Comp G package.
United States · researched through 2026-09-23
This record's own dek describes 2004 as a new sedan-only Grand Prix, with the supercharged GTP and its Comp G package. This record's own overview states that the compiled engine tables list a naturally aspirated 3.8-liter V6 at 200 hp and 230 lb-ft and a supercharged 3.8-liter V6 at 260 hp and 280 lb-ft for 2004, both SAE net as compiled with no rpm given; it also states that no 2004 production figure was found in an accessible published source, and that MotorWeek tested a 2004 GTP with the Comp G suspension package, the supercharged 3.8 V6 at 260 hp and 280 lb-ft, a four-speed automatic with TapShift, and a 0-60 mph time of 6.5 seconds, giving launch prices of $22,395 for the GT and $26,495 for the GTP, with the Comp G test car at $27,890.1,2
This record's own keyFacts section states that the 2004 catalog, printed March 2003, names the Oshawa Assembly Plant #2 near Toronto, Ontario as the car's plant and lists three models, GT1, GT2 and GTP, all with a four-speed automatic, with the GTP's Competition Group Package adding specific suspension tuning, TAPshift steering-wheel paddles, the InfoTech Package, StabiliTrak Sport, Magnasteer II, P225/55R17 V-rated tires on 10-spoke wheels, red brake calipers and a 3.29 axle. This record's own identification section carries that same assembly plant as its single entry.
This record's own production section carries a single row, 131,551 Grand Prix US deliveries for calendar year 2004, explicitly noted as covering all Grand Prix trims and model years rather than model-year production; its own notes state plainly that no model-year production figure was found for 2004 in an accessible published source, and that the compiled Standard Catalog table stops at 2002. This record's own unpublishedLeads section carries a forum estimate that about 15,000 2004 Grand Prix GTPs were built with the Competition Group package, held back as approximate with no source named.3
This record's own prices section carries seven figures: MotorWeek's own launch prices of $22,395 for the GT and $26,495 for the GTP with a $27,890 as-tested Comp G sticker, plus four pontiac.com MSRPs from an April 30, 2004 capture, $22,835 for the GT1, $24,735 for the GT2 (with a $25,060 example shown), $26,935 for the GTP, and $28,330 for the GTP with the Competition Group Package. This record's own conflicts section flags that same price gap directly, MotorWeek's GT and GTP launch prices against pontiac.com's own GT1 and GTP figures, each pair differing by $440, with this record's own treatment note observing the gap probably reflects different dates or destination treatment that neither source states.2
This record's own engines section carries the two entries matching the overview, the naturally aspirated 3.8-liter standard on the GT1 and GT2 and the supercharged 3.8-liter standard on the GTP with or without the Competition Group Package. This record's own conflicts section carries a second dispute over the naturally aspirated engine's own torque, the brochure's 230 lb-ft against the spec sheet's own printed 225 lb-ft at 4,000 rpm, with this record's own treatment note stating two Pontiac documents of the same model year disagree and that the catalog, the compiled table and later sheets use 230. This record's own transmissions section lists the four-speed automatic as the sole transmission for the year.1,4
This record's own options section itemizes the Comp G suspension package and Competition Group Package by their own full content, a Driver's Package, a Lifestyle Package, a Premium Lighting Package, an InfoTech Package, a Leather Trim Package, a Premium Audio Package, head-curtain side-impact air bags, a power spoiler-type sunroof, XM Satellite Radio, OnStar, an engine block heater, and four distinct wheel styles from a 16-inch steel wheel with bolt-on cover up to the 17-inch 10-spoke Competition Group wheel.
This record's own paint table lists eight colors, and this record's own interiors section carries four entries: Parchment cloth, Dark Pewter cloth, Parchment leather, and Dark Pewter leather, each with matching interior trim. This record's own specifications section gives a 110.5-inch wheelbase, 198.3-inch overall length, 55.9-inch overall height, front/rear track of 61.6/61.3 inches, curb weights of 3,477 pounds for the GT1, 3,484 for the GT2 and 3,583 for the GTP, axle ratios of 3.05 for the base 3800, 2.93 for the GTP and 3.29 for the GTP with Competition Group, cargo volumes of 16.0/45.7/57.0 cubic feet by seat configuration, an approximate 17.0-gallon fuel tank, full interior dimensions, and a 0.31 drag coefficient. This record's own performance section carries MotorWeek's own single figure, the 6.5-second 0-60 mph time for the Comp G GTP, matching the overview.4,2
Fact sheet · 2004 · United States
The numbers
2004 Pontiac Grand Prix — A new sedan-only Grand Prix, with the supercharged GTP and its Comp G package.
Coverage: Partial — researched sections are shown; missing ones are not yet sourced. Researched through 2026-09-23.
Every figure is labeled with how sure we are. Reported means a manufacturer, registry, or reference figure we cite but have not reconciled against factory records ourselves. Disputed means credible sources disagree and both are shown. Rows are separately scoped; don't add them together unless the note says they make up a total.
Key facts
- The 2004 Grand Prix catalog (printed March 2003) names the Oshawa Assembly Plant #2 near Toronto, Ontario, as the car's plant and lists three models, GT1, GT2 and GTP, all with a 4-speed automatic; the GTP's Competition Group Package added specific suspension tuning, TAPshift steering-wheel paddles, the InfoTech Package, StabiliTrak Sport, Magnasteer II, P225/55R17 V-rated tires on 10-spoke wheels, red brake calipers and a 3.29 axle.
Production
| What was counted | Count | Basis | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Grand Prix US deliveries, calendar year 20043 United States Calendar-year US deliveries of all Grand Prix trims and model years, not model-year production. | 131,551 | delivered, calendar-year | Reported |
No model-year production figure was found for this year in an accessible published source.
Depth pass 2026-09-23: no 2004 production figure was found in a published source; the compiled Standard Catalog table stops at 2002.
Searched again 2026-09-29 for a 2004 model-year build count (GM and Pontiac press material, Wikipedia, conceptcarz, automobile-catalog, owner-forum production threads, news coverage of the model's end): every source found gives sales or nothing, and none states how many 2004 Grand Prix were built. Not recorded: any figure inferred from sales. A GM production report or the GM Heritage Center, or a Ward's Automotive Yearbook model-year production table, would close it.
Prices when new
| Model | Price | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| Base price, Grand Prix GT2 | $22,395 | launch starting price as reported, 2004 |
| Base price, Grand Prix GTP2 | $26,495 | launch starting price as reported, 2004 |
| As-tested price, GTP with Comp G package2 | $27,890 | as-tested sticker, 2004 |
| Base MSRP, Grand Prix GT1 | $22,835 | manufacturer's suggested retail price on pontiac.com; tax, title, license and optional equipment extra; destination treatment not stated, website capture 2004-04-30 |
| Base MSRP, Grand Prix GT2 | $24,735 | manufacturer's suggested retail price on pontiac.com (the example shown was $25,060); destination treatment not stated, website capture 2004-04-30 |
| Base MSRP, Grand Prix GTP | $26,935 | manufacturer's suggested retail price on pontiac.com; destination treatment not stated, website capture 2004-04-30 |
| Base MSRP, Grand Prix GTP with Competition Group Package | $28,330 | manufacturer's suggested retail price on pontiac.com; destination treatment not stated, website capture 2004-04-30 |
Prices are the nominal dollars of the day, not adjusted for inflation.
Engines
| Engine | Factory rating | Availability | Built |
|---|---|---|---|
| 3.8L V61,4 3.8 L · sequential fuel injection (SFI), Electronic Throttle Control | 200 hp @ 5,200, 230 lb-ft (SAE net (per source's note that post-1972 ratings are net)) | standard on GT1 and GT2 | Not yet sourced |
| 3.8L V6 Supercharged1,4 3.8 L · supercharged | 260 hp @ 5,200, 280 lb-ft @ 3,200 (SAE net (per source's note that post-1972 ratings are net)) | standard on GTP (with or without the Competition Group Package) | Not yet sourced |
Ratings are the manufacturer's advertised figures under the standard shown (SAE gross before 1972, SAE net after). They are not dyno results, and gross and net ratings can't be compared directly.
Transmissions
| Transmission | Availability | Built |
|---|---|---|
| Four-speed automatic with TapShift2 | GTP test car | Not yet sourced |
| 4-speed automatic5 | standard on all models; TAPshift paddle controls with the Competition Group Package; EPA records 19798 (3.8 L), 19800 (3.8 L supercharged) and 19799 (3.8 L supercharged, described '2-MODE') | Not yet sourced |
Options and packages
| Code | Option | Price | Installed |
|---|---|---|---|
package |
Comp G (competition group) suspension package, GTP2 | — | Not yet sourced |
package (code not stated by source) |
Competition Group Package (GTP): specific suspension tuning, TAPshift, InfoTech Package, StabiliTrak Sport, Magnasteer II, P225/55R17 V-rated performance tires, 17-inch 10-spoke lightweight machine-finished wheels, red painted calipers, 3.29 axle4 | — | Not yet sourced |
package (code not stated by source) |
Driver's Package: 16-inch 5-spoke aluminum wheels, 6-way power driver seat, front and rear floor mats (standard GT2) | — | Not yet sourced |
package (code not stated by source) |
Lifestyle Package: folding front passenger seatback, reversible cargo mat, covered cargo storage, cargo net (standard GT2) | — | Not yet sourced |
package (code not stated by source) |
Premium Lighting Package: rear assist handles, lighted visor mirrors, reading lamps, overhead console (standard GT2) | — | Not yet sourced |
package (code not stated by source) |
InfoTech Package: 5-button trip computer and Head-Up Display | — | Not yet sourced |
package (code not stated by source) |
Leather Trim Package: leather-trimmed seating, 4-way power driver lumbar, heated driver and front passenger seats (GT2, GTP) | — | Not yet sourced |
package (code not stated by source) |
Premium Audio Package: in-dash 6-disc CD changer and 245-watt Monsoon 9-speaker system with amplifier | — | Not yet sourced |
option (code not stated by source) |
Head-curtain side-impact air bags; power spoiler-type sunroof; XM Satellite Radio; OnStar; engine block heater | — | Not yet sourced |
QB5RPO |
16-inch black painted steel wheel with silver bolt-on wheel cover (GT1 standard) | — | Not yet sourced |
QD1RPO |
16-inch aluminum 5-spoke, silver painted (chrome finish with 14P) | — | Not yet sourced |
N85RPO |
17-inch aluminum curved 5-spoke, silver painted (GTP standard; chrome finish with 14P) | — | Not yet sourced |
PO4RPO |
17-inch 10-spoke lightweight aluminum, machine finished (standard with Competition Group) | — | Not yet sourced |
Paint
| Code | Color | Built |
|---|---|---|
12 |
Galaxy Silver Metallic | Not yet sourced |
15 |
Sedona Beige Metallic (available July 2003) | Not yet sourced |
40 |
Ivory White | Not yet sourced |
41 |
Black | Not yet sourced |
47 |
Polo Green Metallic | Not yet sourced |
56 |
Fusion Orange Metallic (spec sheet: not available until April 2003)4 | Not yet sourced |
63 |
Sport Red Metallic | Not yet sourced |
88 |
Graystone Metallic (available July 2003) | Not yet sourced |
Color names are the factory's. We don't show color swatches, because a screen color is no guide for a restoration.
Interiors
| Code | Trim | Built |
|---|---|---|
|
Parchment cloth with Parchment/Dark Pewter interior trim | Not yet sourced |
|
Dark Pewter cloth with Dark Pewter interior trim | Not yet sourced |
|
Parchment leather-trimmed seating with Parchment/Dark Pewter interior trim | Not yet sourced |
|
Dark Pewter leather-trimmed seating with Dark Pewter interior trim | Not yet sourced |
Specifications
| Measure | Value | Applies to |
|---|---|---|
| Wheelbase | 110.5 in | all |
| Overall length | 198.3 in | all |
| Overall height | 55.9 in | all |
| Track, front/rear | 61.6/61.3 in | all |
| Curb weight | GT1 3,477; GT2 3,484; GTP 3,583 lb | by model |
| Axle ratio | 3.05 (3800 V6); 2.93 (GTP); 3.29 (GTP with Competition Group) :1 | by engine/package |
| Cargo volume: trunk / rear seats down / rear and front passenger seats down | 16.0 / 45.7 / 57.0 cu ft | all |
| Fuel capacity (approx.) | 17 gal | all |
| Interior: head/shoulder/hip/leg room, front and rear | head 38.8/36.2; shoulder 58.0/54.8; hip 54.5/54.3; leg 42.2/36.2 in | all |
| Drag coefficient | 0.31 Cd | as claimed by the catalog |
Period road tests
| Test | Car tested | Result |
|---|---|---|
| MotorWeek, 200420-60 mph | 2004 Grand Prix GTP, supercharged 3.8 V6, four-speed automatic, Comp G packageProgram #2229; stated in the review as the test car's time; conditions not given. | 6.5 s |
A road test result belongs to the one car that was tested, with its engine, gearing, tires, and conditions. It is not a figure for every car of the year.
Identification
- Assembly plant
- Oshawa Assembly Plant #2, near Toronto, Ontario (as stated in the 2004 catalog).
Where the sources disagree
2004 3800 Series III (naturally aspirated) torque
- 230 lb-ft
- 225 lb.-ft. @ 4000 rpm4
Two Pontiac documents of the same model year disagree; show both. The catalog, the compiled table and later sheets use 230.
2004 GT and GTP base prices
- GT $22,395; GTP $26,495 (launch prices reported by MotorWeek)2
- GT1 $22,835; GTP $26,935 (pontiac.com, April 2004)
Each pair differs by $440; the figures probably reflect different dates or destination treatment, which neither source states. Show both with their dates.
Identification
Read a 2004 Pontiac VIN
The VIN decoder runs in your browser and never sends the VIN anywhere. How the factory numbered this year's cars:
Same model year
Also in 2004
- Cadillac V-Series The first V-Series car: a CTS sedan with the Corvette Z06-family LS6 V8 rated 400 hp, offered only with a six-speed manual.
- Chevrolet Monte Carlo SS Supercharged SS (L67, 240 hp) joins the 200-hp SS.
- Ford Thunderbird The 280-hp retro roadster continued; Ford sold 11,998 in calendar 2004 and added a 1,000-car Pacific Coast Roadster.
- Mercury Marauder and S-55 The Marauder's second and final year: 302 hp, an electronic four-speed automatic, and 3,214 sales.
- Pontiac GTO The name returns on an Australian-built Holden coupe with the LS1 V8; 15,740 built for the model year.