2010 · Ford · United States
2010 Ford Taurus SHO: the name returns as a twin-turbo V6
The SHO name returns on a 365-hp twin-turbocharged, direct-injection 3.5-liter EcoBoost V6 with standard all-wheel drive and a six-speed automatic.
United States · researched through 2026-09-22
This record's own dek describes 2010 as the year the SHO name returns on a 365-hp twin-turbocharged, direct-injection 3.5-liter EcoBoost V6 with standard all-wheel drive and a six-speed automatic. This record's own overview states that Ford's 2010 Taurus brochure introduces the SHO with that EcoBoost V6, rated at 365 hp and 350 lb-ft with a flat torque curve the brochure describes as running from 1,500 to 5,000 rpm, power reaching the road through a six-speed SelectShift automatic with paddle shifters and torque-sensing all-wheel drive, both standard.
This record's own overview states that the SHO Performance Package listed in the 2010 brochure adds upgraded brake pads, sport-calibrated steering, a Sport Mode for AdvanceTrac, a 3.16:1 final drive in place of 2.77:1, and 20-inch wheels with P245/45R20 Y-rated summer tires, and that the brochure's own option page states the package could not be combined with the rear-view camera. This record's own options section also documents Rapid Spec order codes 400B, 401B, and 402B, layering the power moonroof, Sony sound system, and heated and cooled seats onto the SHO's standard content in that order.
This record's own production section states that no production figures for the 2010–2019 SHO were found in a published source, with its own production row carrying a null value and a status of not-published. This record's own prices section documents an MSRP of $37,770 against a $34,663 dealer invoice, a spread of $3,107, and a review car's as-tested total of $45,175 including an $825 destination charge and $7,180 of options, a gap of $7,405 above the base MSRP once destination and options are both counted.1,2
Seven exterior colors are documented for the year without production counts, including Cinnamon Metallic and Ingot Silver Metallic alongside Red Candy Metallic Tinted Clearcoat and White Platinum Metallic Tri-Coat, both listed as extra-cost finishes rather than standard colors. Two interior trims are documented, both Charcoal Black leather with perforated Miko Suede inserts, one in Charcoal Black and one in Umber, both standard on the SHO.
This record's own specifications section documents the 2.77:1 standard final drive against the 3.16:1 Performance Package ratio already noted, a 112.9-inch wheelbase, a 202.9-inch overall length, a 10.0:1 compression ratio, P255/45VR19 Goodyear Eagle all-season tires, and EPA ratings of 17 mpg city, 25 highway, and 20 combined. The Performance Package's own 20-inch summer tires, P245/45R20, are a size up from the standard P255/45VR19 fitment, with a narrower section width in this record's own specifications.1
This record's own performance section documents an observed fuel economy of 20.2 mpg from a 2010 review, above the EPA's own 20 mpg combined rating already noted in this record's own specifications, with Performance Package fitment on that test car not stated. This record's own unpublished leads document a claimed 2013 SHO production breakdown by color, package, and market posted on an EcoBoost enthusiast forum, and a Ford Show Parts certificate of authenticity said to include a production breakdown, neither one read or verified, both flagged in this record as forum-only or commercial and not accessed.2
Fact sheet · 2010 · United States
The numbers
2010 Ford Taurus SHO — The SHO name returns on a 365-hp twin-turbocharged, direct-injection 3.5-liter EcoBoost V6 with standard all-wheel drive and a six-speed automatic.
Coverage: Partial — researched sections are shown; missing ones are not yet sourced. Researched through 2026-09-22.
Every figure is labeled with how sure we are. Reported means a manufacturer, registry, or reference figure we cite but have not reconciled against factory records ourselves. Disputed means credible sources disagree and both are shown. Rows are separately scoped; don't add them together unless the note says they make up a total.
Key facts
Production
| What was counted | Count | Basis | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Taurus SHO, all SHO · 4-door sedan · 3.5 EcoBoost V6 · 6-speed automatic · not stated No published 2010 SHO production figure was found. See unpublishedLeads. | Unknown | built, model-year | Not published |
Ford does not appear to have published SHO production by year for this generation. Individual-car reports (e.g., Marti-type reports or Ford certificates) are said to carry year breakdowns; none were read.
No whole-year 2010 SHO production figure was found. Ford Show Parts lists its certificate of authenticity, which it says carries model-year production totals, for 2010 through 2013 only. Owner-typed 2013 readings exist only as a forum lead (see the 2013 record); for this year no thread, page or post was found that reads a total off the certificate. Searched 2026-09-29: shoforum.com and Blue Oval Forums threads (the latter keeps its figures in a PDF attachment that could not be read), the Ford Show Parts product page and web searches on Ford, Flat Rock and Chicago Assembly SHO counts; ecoboostownerforums.com returned HTTP 403 and was not read. A reading of the 2010 certificate, or a Ford statement of the total, would close it.
Prices when new
| Model | Price | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| Taurus SHO AWD, base1 | $37,770 | MSRP excluding destination (buyer's-guide data), 2010 model year |
| Taurus SHO AWD, dealer invoice1 | $34,663 | invoice in buyer's-guide data, 2010 model year |
| As tested (review car)2 | $45,175 | review car total including $825 destination and $7,180 of options, 2010 model year |
Prices are the nominal dollars of the day, not adjusted for inflation.
Engines
| Engine | Factory rating | Availability | Built |
|---|---|---|---|
| 3.5-liter EcoBoost V6, twin-turbocharged, direct injection1 3,496 cc · twin turbochargers, direct injection | 365 hp @ 5,500, 350 lb-ft @ 3,500 (manufacturer rating, premium fuel (rating standard not stated)) | standard on SHO (only engine) | Not yet sourced |
Ratings are the manufacturer's advertised figures under the standard shown (SAE gross before 1972, SAE net after). They are not dyno results, and gross and net ratings can't be compared directly.
Transmissions
| Transmission | Availability | Built |
|---|---|---|
| Six-speed SelectShift automatic with paddle shifters; torque-sensing all-wheel drive | standard on SHO | Not yet sourced |
Options and packages
| Code | Option | Price | Installed |
|---|---|---|---|
package |
SHO Performance Package: performance brake pads, sport-calibrated steering, AdvanceTrac Sport Mode, 3.16:1 final drive, 20-in painted Luster-nickel aluminum wheels with P245/45R20 Y-rated summer tires, tire sealant/inflation kit (not with rear-view camera) | — | Not yet sourced |
400Border code |
Rapid Spec 400B: SHO standard content (EcoBoost V6, 19-in wheels with P255/45R19 tires, AWD, sport-tuned suspension, Miko Suede inserts, HID headlamps, rear spoiler, rear-view camera) | — | Not yet sourced |
401Border code |
Rapid Spec 401B: power moonroof, Sony sound (12 speakers, 390 watts), heated and cooled front seats | — | Not yet sourced |
402Border code |
Rapid Spec 402B: 401B content plus heated rear seats, rear-window sunshade, memory power pedals, auto high beams, BLIS with cross-traffic alert, rain-sensing wipers | — | Not yet sourced |
option |
20-in premium painted aluminum wheels with P245/45R20 V-rated all-season tires | — | Not yet sourced |
option |
Adaptive cruise control and collision warning with brake support (requires moonroof; not with Performance Package) | — | Not yet sourced |
Paint
| Code | Color | Built |
|---|---|---|
|
Cinnamon Metallic | Not yet sourced |
|
Red Candy Metallic Tinted Clearcoat (extra cost) | Not yet sourced |
|
White Platinum Metallic Tri-Coat (extra cost) | Not yet sourced |
|
Ingot Silver Metallic | Not yet sourced |
|
Steel Blue Metallic | Not yet sourced |
|
Atlantis Green Metallic | Not yet sourced |
|
Tuxedo Black Metallic | Not yet sourced |
Color names are the factory's. We don't show color swatches, because a screen color is no guide for a restoration.
Interiors
| Code | Trim | Built |
|---|---|---|
|
Charcoal Black leather with perforated Charcoal Black Miko Suede inserts (standard on SHO) | Not yet sourced |
|
Charcoal Black leather with perforated Umber Miko Suede inserts (standard on SHO) | Not yet sourced |
Specifications
| Measure | Value | Applies to |
|---|---|---|
| Standard final drive ratio | 2.77 :1 | SHO without Performance Package |
| Performance Package final drive ratio | 3.16 :1 | SHO Performance Package |
| Wheelbase1 | 112.9 in | Taurus SHO |
| Overall length1 | 202.9 in | Taurus SHO |
| Compression ratio1 | 10 :1 | 3.5 EcoBoost |
| Standard tires1 | P255/45VR19 Goodyear Eagle all-season | SHO |
| EPA fuel economy, city1 | 17 mpg | SHO AWD |
| EPA fuel economy, highway1 | 25 mpg | SHO AWD |
| EPA fuel economy, combined1 | 20 mpg | SHO AWD |
Period road tests
| Test | Car tested | Result |
|---|---|---|
| The Auto Channel (John Heilig), 2010-022observed fuel economy | 2010 Taurus SHO AWD with $7,180 of options (Performance Package fitment not stated)reviewer's test-week average | 20.2 mpg |
A road test result belongs to the one car that was tested, with its engine, gearing, tires, and conditions. It is not a figure for every car of the year.
Identification
Read a 2010 Ford VIN
The VIN decoder runs in your browser and never sends the VIN anywhere. How the factory numbered this year's cars:
Same model year
Also in 2010
- Cadillac V-Series The 556-hp CTS-V sedan in its second model year, with manual and automatic configurations; a single early coupe appears in the production list.
- Chrysler 300 SRT The final 6.1-liter 300C SRT8: 425 hp at 6,000 rpm and one five-speed automatic power team.
- Dodge Challenger The Challenger's fortieth-anniversary year: heritage colours with serialized plaques, a 400-car Furious Fuchsia SRT8, and the first Mopar-branded factory special at 500 cars.
- Dodge Charger The last year of the first modern Charger body: HEMI R/T in rear- or all-wheel drive, a 372-hp Road/Track, and the 425-hp SRT8.